On mission revenue & rewards idea

I’m new to crypto, but not to life, bear with me if this seems to be an old or archaic idea to y’all. Your comments are encouraged, I have thick skin.

My idea here was sparked by the possible Proof-of-Deposit proposal and James Downer’s pilot project that he speaks about here → Real World Use Cases from Around the Globe - YouTube (starts at about the 20 minute mark of the video) and of course on my experience in life and business.

When looking at investing in anything I try to ask, “How’s this business going to keep the lights on and make a profit after the startup funds run dry?”

I really struggle, with just a few exceptions, in trying to see a path that answers that question well for most crypto protocols, and to be fair, that includes Celo right now.

There’s a significant lack of sustainable, customer driven, revenue streams in the whole space.

Now I admit that my idea is not terribly novel, but it can be symbiotic in the Celo ecosystem:

1 - Have Celo’s Reserve rebalance it’s holdings in order to add real world income producing assets as needed.

2 - Create a new ‘locked’ status that Celo’s stable coin owners can choose.

3 - Use a portion of the income from the new class of assets in the Celo reserve to pay interest/rewards on locked stable coin balances.

4 - Use any profit, above and beyond paying the interest/rewards, to keep the lights on (and then some) at Celo in an ongoing manner.

So you ask, how would this fit into Celo’s vision of ‘Prosperity for All’?

Well first, the lending could be preferentially directed toward providing the working capital needed to turn projects like James Downer’s Roda pilot into successful growing Celo based business models. Ideas like his can be adapted to fit anywhere in the world and financed directly by Celo at a profit.